I get by with a little help from my friends: Reminders of community

Laughing with my community

Laughing with my community

Yesterday, something incredible happened.

See, a few months ago, I decided to call on the support of my community to help me. I wanted to pull together something special – a group of people to join me and Sarah for a charity run for the Arthritis Foundation, in honor of my sister. I sent out a call to runners I know who knew my sister.

The response was way more than I was expecting. We ended up with a total of 20 people over two separate races wearing shirts designed by two friends of mine. And, we were able to keep it under wraps until today.

That, in and of itself is pretty amazing. But, when things started coming together, there was something else … really important … that I was reminded of.

I was reminded how important community is. That the ways we help and support each other – through it all – is vital. I was reminded of the ways that we help build each other up and allow ourselves to be a part of a world that is so hard, and so beautiful. We can’t make it without each other. And trying to do so is so freaking hard.

I know there have been times that I have done just that. I tend to shut myself off when I’m feeling down, or when I’m overwhelmed. I know I tend to push people away. And it’s not helpful. It’s not how we storytellers, makers of dreams and builders of futures, are made to function.

The past few weeks have been schoolwork, liberally sprinkled with reminders of community… Today was the universe’s cumulative way of telling me how freaking powerful community it.

I am filled with so much gratitude.

4 responses to “I get by with a little help from my friends: Reminders of community

  1. I was the very fortunate soul to be the one who was receiving all this support and love from family and friends. This was well said, Steph. And yesterday was such a wonderful reminder to me that on those days when I feel the loneliest with this disease, all I have to do is think back to this very beautiful day (even tho it was a rainy day) and remember that I truly do have the love and support that I need. Thank you, to both you and Sarah, from the bottom of my heart, for making this all ppssible!!!

Leave a Reply

