Breathing Room: A Chance to Slow Down

Dear friends, I’m sitting at my kitchen table, listening to Antje Duvekot, sipping my coffee with 2% milk, and pondering what to say. Last time we were together for a conversation, we were talking about vulnerability and community building. I guess I could pick up from there, being visible and real about what happened, and putting in my pondering if that’s part of why I haven’t been here in this space. (Vulnerability hangover?)

SlowdownA few hours after the last post, I was open and honest with a class I was in about staying open during one of our conversations. The short story is – it blew up. Tremendously. I was left rattling around my brain and needing more time to process than I had needed the week before. I also didn’t want to talk about it in such a public forum, mostly because I didn’t know what to say.

Then, the end of the semester and beginning a part time job all came around the corner and I was shuttling between campus, part time work, school work, and graduate assistant school work.

It’s only today, my first real day off (with a ginormous to do list) that I feel like I have some breathing room.

In the midst of this, I would poke at a few blogs I read, reading about self-care and listening to yourself and sometimes, wondering if I really knew what I was doing, if I could do this – juggle everything and keep going with what I need to do for myself. Of course, these questions start arising when I have had less than 4 hours of sleep, most of which was spent tossing and turning, terrified I was going to be late for my job.

Not the most conducive to slowing down, to breathing room.

So, today, there will be blogging, because I don’t want to go weeks without posting. Today, there will be (some) catch up with my reader feed (and playing with a new reader, as Google Reader is going away in July). There will be cookie baking and letter writing. Some knitting and some reading. And perhaps a few cups of tea.

What are you up to today?

8 responses to “Breathing Room: A Chance to Slow Down

Leave a Reply

