We interrupt this regularly scheduled program…

English: Icon of TV with color bars displayed

I was at a meditation retreat this weekend, which was very filling and also demanding. Monday was spent catching up on the things I didn’t get done over the weekend (you know, those things that make the week that much easier), and also had a nice long run. Tuesday, it was some yoga to stretch out tired muscles, dinner, a long sitting session, then early bedtime. And now, it’s Wednesday and, by my own internal posting calendar, I need to have a brilliant post up. (Even more so, since I missed Sunday’s post!)

Then I realize that’s a pressure I’m putting on myself. I want to be here. And I want to write. I also know I need to finish this short story submission (it’s due Saturday) and maintain the other things that keep me happy, healthy, and sane. Not doing those things will make me resent this space, and that’s something I really don’t want.

So, this week is an interruption in the regularly scheduled program. I hope to have a Through the Glass post up tomorrow, but today, I promise only gentleness, compassion, and the reminder that I need to get edits done. No pressure.

And that means I appreciate this space that much more.

Have there been times you’ve let go of pressure on doing or being something in particular? What was it like?

2 thoughts on “We interrupt this regularly scheduled program…

Leave a Reply

