All the roads we have to walk are winding

Subject line from “Wonderwall” by Oasis.

It seems funny to say that, on this, my 35th blog post here, I’m having an identity crisis. That I’m trying to figure out which way to go with the blog. What boundaries (if any) there should be. With the title I have chosen for this blog, Visible and Real, there shouldn’t be an issue.

And yet, there is.

See, this journal’s first iteration was a way for me to process through my (second) graduate school experience. I’m currently going to school to become a counselor. What that means to this space is I really am thinking long and hard about what to share, what not to share, how “findable” I am. And yet, I feel that if I’m not open and honest, it negates what I’m trying to do with this space. It negates what I find valuable and helpful. It even negates who I want to become as a practicing counselor who serves as a co-journeyer with my (future) clients.

Village road sign in DevonCouple that with the increasing excitement and trepidation of leaving my full time job in about a month to pursue some great opportunities at school. In the in between of leaving my current job and starting those new endeavors, I will also be working toward starting my own business.

I have found some great resources, which I will be sharing here. I also am hoping to share some of the adventure, because I find myself overwhelmed with this process. So many of the bloggers  I follow who have thriving businesses have been at it for a while now. I feel such a disconnect from their put-togetherness to my fumbling around, wondering if this is even what I should be doing.

That said, I don’t regret the decision to leave my full-time job to pursue some amazing adventures in research and at my institution. I will continue navigating what boundaries I should maintain, to think about my future clients’ needs and my own. Over the next two weeks, there will be changes here. The blog will be getting an overhaul, I will be revising my categories and tags, and I will be looking into ways that this writing can be better support and inspiration. I will be changing focus a bit to where I find myself writing more. All this to say….

If there are specific things that you have (not) liked…
If there are areas of this blog that you scroll right past…
If there are areas you can’t wait for…
If you have thoughts or suggestions…

I can’t wait to hear them. Please email me (visible.and.real at gmail dot com) and let me know how this space can better serve what you’re looking for.

Edited to add: Also feel free to leave a comment answering those questions. I also wanted to give options if you did not want to have a public conversation.

One thought on “All the roads we have to walk are winding

Leave a Reply

