Through the Glass Backwards: Print Books

Each Thursday, join me for my once a week practice, Through the Glass Backwards. As I commute into work, I take the light rail downtown. Even though I tend to get motion sick easily, I usually end up facing backwards, watching as  the city slips by. These vignettes will be a 200 word glimpse of things I see as the world outside me lives its life, and I am fortunate enough to see.

author reading book on couch
Curling up and reading at home

Recently, I’ve been noticing an increase in print books in people’s hands when I’m on the light rail, most often library books. That there are still a number of e-readers and smartphone users, but the other morning when I got on, there were three people, all sitting window side and no one sitting next them, holding print books in their hands.

I’m a sneak peeker. It’s one of the reasons I’m noticing print materials instead of e-readers. I spend part of my ride gazing out of the window, daydreaming about the changes that are coming. The other part of my ride, I’m glancing out of the corner of my eye, trying to catch a hint of a title, or spine, or perhaps even the header and page number. I want to ask people, “What are you reading?” It’s not as  though I need more book recommendations. But to connect with people over stories, over what they find interesting, to have conversations about books and tales and enjoyment? Even the thought of it makes me smile.

Unfortunately, I’m typically a poor peeker, or spend too little time sneaking peeks and instead, daydream out of the window, wondering my own stories and tales.

What are you currently reading? What stories are you currently enjoying?

4 thoughts on “Through the Glass Backwards: Print Books

  1. You make a good point when you say you can connect to people through stories. I went to a library staff conference last week and one of the speakers asked us to discuss the book we were reading, or a book we recently read, with the person sitting next to us. We all talked so loudly and for so long that the speaker had to ping a glass top get us to stop talking. The point of the exercise was to prove that books connect people. Books act as a conversation starter, no matter who you are talking to. At the conference, we were purposely allocated seats so that we were sat next to someone we didn’t know, from a different region, with a different role, in a different sector; but start us talking about books and we suddenly have a lot to talk about.

    • That’s *awesome*! I love the image of everyone being like, “Want to keep talking books!” instead of going back to the conference talk.

      Stories are so incredibly powerful. One of my favourite things about my job is when people ask what I recommend to read. It always starts such an interesting conversation.

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. Love what you’re doing here as it relates to your meditation practice. I’m also a fairly new meditator and, of course, paying attention is a form all by itself. Setting your intention like this, I’m sure you notice things you might not otherwise. Very cool!

Leave a Reply

