How I Came to Writing Practice: The here and now is all we have

Only one more day to launching the class schedule for my inaugural month of teaching!

(I am jumping up and down in my seat!)

Between July 27 to 31, I will be posting the story of how I came to writing practice. This will hopefully give some context of what to expect and why I believe so strongly that we are all storytellers and why I believe in this process. Please leave comments and questions if there’s more you’d like to know.

It’s amazing, how the things we are meant to do linger with us. For two years, I kept pushing back thoughts about teaching. The repetitive story was, “You aren’t able to do this.” And I believed it, deeply. I kept writing, but quietly. I took two years of meditation training. I dreamed, but kept my words tight, locked away in my journals.

Me writing
Doing writing practice in a coffee shop.

I have participated in NaNoWriMo from 2005 through 2011. During that time, I have completed three manuscripts (2005, 2009, and 2010). There were pieces of the 2010 novel which intrigued me. Kept tickling away at my brain. Then, two days after NaNo finished, my computer crashed and I lost the only complete file of the manuscript. (Yes, rookie mistake. Believe me, I know.) In 2011, I was trying to take the novel in a different direction.

All that to say… I couldn’t stop writing. I couldn’t stop thinking about ways to keep working with the idea that I was able to declare myself storyteller. I just happened to be focusing in on fiction writing. But, as I continued to write, and even submitted a short story for potential publication (it was rejected, by the way), I realized that my own story was keeping me from my heart work.

When I started Visible and Real 2.0 nearly four months ago, it was to honor my practices. It was a way to share my experiences with “practice,” across meditation, writing, and running. In four months of focusing my attention on practice, I see where practice takes me and the importance of practice. I also recognize my role as storyteller in owning and following my path. So while this little blog has only been going for four months, it’s based on more than half my lifetime of practice.

I had no idea four months ago that it would lead me to the exact place I’ve run from for over two years. That the questions that haunt me, the process that scares me, the practice I have spent more than half of my life entrenched in are the places I need to keep diving in deep. The blog entries led me to the Here, to the Now, the edge of this great adventure.

So, here I am. This time, I am working to temper my GO GO GO with some ideas, some forethought, and some clear idea of where I want to go. I recognize that I have this, here and now. That’s all I have. And so, in the countdown before releasing the class schedule and final changes around this blog, I leave you with this:

“One of the few things I know about writing is this: Spend it all, shoot it, play it, lose it all, right away, every time. Do not hoard what seems good for a later place in the book, or for another book, give it, give it all, give it now.” ~ Annie Dillard

5 thoughts on “How I Came to Writing Practice: The here and now is all we have

Leave a Reply

