Declare yourself storyteller: September class schedule and information

It’s here! It’s August 1!

(Be sure to scroll down to the bottom to see the exciting giveaway contest!)

Over the past five days, I’ve explored my process of learning and owning my writing practice. I started the series as a way to give my potential students a chance to see where I’m coming from, why I am putting it all on the line to teach this practice. I’ve shared about my introduction to this practice, my deepening of my foundation, further walks on the path, and my first attempt at teaching this practice. I ended the series with where I am today. I’ve changed my About Me page, and added a few buttons along the top of the blog: Storytellers., FAQ about Classes, and Current Class Offerings. (The content of the latter will always be announced via blog post, too! September’s classes is shown below.)

After fourteen years of practicing and falling in love with writing practice, I believe this is one way that we can build community and share our whole, vibrant, broken, brilliant selves. I believe it because I’ve seen it. I believe it because I’ve experienced it. So, I have one question for you:

Are you ready to declare yourself storyteller?

September Class Offerings

Disclaimers: Due to the potentiality for mature content, I must request all participants be over 18 years of age. If you are under 18, and interested in this practice, please contact me at visible.and.real at gmail dot com. Also, these classes do promote self-exploration and curiosity, but are not meant to be a replacement for professional mental health guidance. I am not a licensed counselor and will not be acting in that capacity in class.

Since September is my inaugural month, I am offering this session of classes at half price! During this session, the course will run for four weeks. I am also offering courses five days a week, at a variety of times. The classes will be using the same prompt, so choose dates/times based on your schedule. If these times do not work for you, please let me know. The next session dates and times are still being planned. During this four week session, I will be asking for feedback on the course. Your participation will help guide the course’s future.

Classes are taught via conference/web call. You do not have to be located in Baltimore, but you do have to be present during the two hour block of time. The classes will be taught in real time, just via distance.

If you have further questions, feel free to check out the FAQ page, leave a comment, or email me at visible.and.real at gmail dot com.

I am offering courses on the following dates and times:

PLEASE NOTE: The button to register for class is below the class meeting dates. Registration will end either when the class is filled (7 people) or 24 hours before the first class session.

Mondays
9:00 – 11:00 AM (Eastern time)
$80 USD $40 USD
Course meets September 10, 17, 24, and October 1

Buy Now Button

***

Tuesdays
7:00-9:00 PM (Eastern time)
$80 USD $40 USD
Course meets September 11, 18, 25, and October 2

Buy Now Button

***

Fridays
1:00-3:00 PM (Eastern time)
$80 USD $40 USD
Course meets September 14, 21, 28, and October 5

Buy Now Button

***

Saturdays
7:00-9:00 AM (Eastern time)
$80 USD $40 USD
Course meets September 15, 22, 29, and October 6

Buy Now Button

***

Sundays
2:00-4:00 PM (Eastern time)
$80 USD $40 USD
Course meets September 16, 23, 30, and October 7

Buy Now Button

***

Financial policy: If you are interested in taking classes, but feel limited by the cost, please contact me at visible.and.real at gmail dot com. I believe strongly in this practice and don’t want that to keep you from it.

***

Exciting giveaway contest! Between Wednesday, August 1 and Saturday, August 4 at 11:59PM EST, you’ll have the chance to enter your name in a total of FIVE times to win registration into one of the September classes! (For those who may not want to attend the class, but know someone who might – the class can be passed on to someone else!) There are two ways to enter your name:

  • Post a comment here with your favourite inspirational quote. (Limit one per person.)
  • Share this link with via your Twitter, Facebook, or Google+ account. Then come back here and comment that you shared! (Limit one per day, up to four total. Yes! You can share it each day for a unique entry. Please comment each time it’s shared to ensure you get your entry!)

Comments to this entry will close Saturday, August 4, 2012 at 11:59PM, EST. Winner will be chosen randomly via drawing out of a hat. My partner will do the actual physical drawing out of the hat.

As of 12:15AM EST on Sunday, August 5, the comments are now closed.

The winner will be announced on Monday, August 6 via blog post. I look forward to reading your quotes!

26 thoughts on “Declare yourself storyteller: September class schedule and information

  1. Woo Hoo! This is wonderful, Steph! You are an inspiration!

    Here’s a quote I found just today from a former seminary professor–what a wonderful chance you have created to share it:

    Time passes, and what it passes through is people –
    though people believe that they are passing through time,
    and even, at certain euphoric moments, directing time.
    It’s a delusion, but it’s where memoirs come from,
    or at least the very best ones.
    They tell how destiny presses on desire
    and how desire pushes back,
    sometimes heroically,
    always poignantly,
    but never quite victoriously.
    Life is an upstream, not an uphill, battle,
    And it results in just one story:
    How, and alongside whom, one used his paddle.

    –Walter Kirn, reviewing Robert Stone’s PRIME GREEN in the NYT Book Review,
    January 7, 2007.

  2. I repeat this to myself when I need courage. And, well, it seemed fitting. :)

    “A word after a word
    after a word is power.” – from Margaret Atwood’s poem, “Spelling”

    So excited for you!

  3. Wooohoooooo!!! So proud of you, Steph!

    As for quotes…I can only pick ONE?!? ;) Okay, here’s on of my favs:

    “It takes courage to grow up and turn out to be who you really are.”

    ~ e.e. cummings

  4. “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today is a gift…that’s why it’s called the present.” I can’t remember what the turtles name is, but this is from Kung Fu Panda.

  5. Let’s see. Inspirational quotes… How about this one?

    There is, one knows not what sweet mystery about this sea, whose gently awful stirrings seem to speak of some hidden soul beneath. – Herman Melville. Not quite sure how inspiring it is, but I like the picture it puts in my head.

  6. And, of course, I do find this unquestionably inspirational.

    “If there’s no great glorious end to all this, if … nothing we do matters … then all that matters is what we do. ‘Cause that’s all there is. What we do. Now. Today.” – Angel

Comments are closed.