Through the Glass Backwards: A contrast in colors

You still have a chance to enter the free class session giveaway contest going on! Be sure to leave a comment in that entry if you share the post on your Facebook, Twitter, or Google+! I want to make sure you get your entries!

***

Each Thursday, join me for my once a week practice, Through the Glass Backwards. As I commute into work, I take the light rail downtown. Even though I tend to get motion sick easily, I usually end up facing backwards, watching as  the city slips by. These vignettes will be a 200 word glimpse of things I see as the world outside me lives its life, and I am fortunate enough to see.

Single white cloud on a clear blue sky

There are white clouds against the brilliant blue sky. In the distance, there are ones that look like dirty shredded cotton balls stretched across the skyline. I see the bright green of a cyclist’s shirt, neon screaming in the grays, blues, and blacks of state workers. There is a slash of red against the concrete wall, a single stroke of color against the monochrome graffiti tags. There is an orange highway cone sitting on a rock island in the middle of the Jones Falls riverway, the shock of brightness among the dark green tree leaves.

The days have been hot most of this summer. I drag myself from building to light rail in the afternoon. I want to be awake to my surroundings. I want to take everything in. But the colorful awnings and yellow Tyvek blur by as I sink into the blue fabric covered seat, grateful instead for the cool air.

Perspective changes when I am taken out of myself by bright colors. In the rush hour foot traffic, I see so many in muted colors, suits and business casual clothing. The buildings of brick and concrete blend. It’s the vibrancy that shocks me awake, reminds me to pay attention.

Leave a Reply

