Through the Glass Backwards: A whole lotta scenarios

Each Thursday, join me for my once a week practice, Through the Glass Backwards. As I commute into work, I take the light rail downtown. Even though I tend to get motion sick easily, I usually end up facing backwards, watching as  the city slips by. These vignettes will be a 200 word glimpse of things I see as the world outside me lives its life, and I am fortunate enough to see.

Cell Phone
Cell Phone (Photo credit: JonJon2k8)

“That’s a whole lotta scenarios…”

A young man’s voice, talking on the phone. I didn’t hear much else of the conversation, but that part? That one stuck out. I looked around the mostly full car I was in, the trees and concrete flying by outside the window. And I realize that, even though that’s not what he was talking about, every morning and evening, I’m in the middle of a whole lotta scenarios.

The person who is sleeping? What keeps them up at night? The person putting on her make-up and talking on her phone? Who is she talking to and what fills her mornings? The person who is staring out the window, not looking anyone in the eye? Is she really just writing blog posts in her head?

There’s a whole lotta scenarios that put people in the same car as me, on any given day. I don’t have a set schedule of when I arrive at the station or when I come in to work. So, it changes, the people I see on a given day. And yet, that just means it’s a whole lotta other scenarios that I don’t normally bump up against.

What scenarios are they living?

Listen.

Cell Phone

Leave a Reply

