Weekend Reads

Somehow, my Google Reader feed is showing 1000+ unread items. It feels a bit overwhelming. But, I’m slowly going through them. The next few weeks of Weekend Reads might be kind of long. Just warning you!

Share your comments and your own great finds in the comments (or your own blog)! Just be sure to point me in that direction :)

Be Inspired
Leo Babauta over at Zen Habits has some interesting ideas on how to get inspired – even when you don’t want to. (Interesting thoughts to my post on practice.)

An Optimist, a Pessimist, and  Realist Walk Into a Bar…
A great post from The Jotter’s Joint about the Optimist and Pessimist selves in the creative process.

Conservation of Anxiety
Oh, Seth Godin. How do you know what’s in my brain? And what I need to hear?

20 Strategies for Tackling that “Bottomless Pit” of Writing
As I was wrapping up my full time day job to transition over to Visible and Real being my focus, I felt like everything was all to dos, all the time. This helped give me some perspective. (Number 20 is particularly relevant to me.)

To Fly
Images of people, around the globe, reading. Also includes some pretty awesome quotes about reading. Beautiful.

Everything in Writing and Life is Fiction
A great New Yorker article about the ways that we tell stories, all day long.

On the Value of Being Messy
Artist and writer Beth Morey hits the nail on the head with this beautiful post about being honest, messy, and truthful.

An Intentional Life
Leo over at Zen Habits speaks so simply and eloquently about living an intentional life. Sometimes, I forget. And now, as I’m in transition, is a great time to be reminded.

Food and Exercise are not matter and anti-matter
While this isn’t a blog geared toward healthy eating/exercise, I do think that’s part of the really important thing called balanced living. Michelle at The Fat Nutritionist does a fantastic job talking about balance and non-black/white thinking. A great post about making friends with both food and exercise, not treating them as enemies.

Passion over perfection. Love over politics. The Story of Mrs. Mulvey.
Danielle LaPorte shares a great moment in her life – when she realized passion is important and noticed.

78 Inspirational Quotes to Start Your Fire.
Another from Danielle LaPorte. It’s the collection of quotes she used in her book, The Fire Starter Sessions. (Which is one of the next non-fictions up on my list.) Fantastic list. A few of my favourites? (But there are a ton. Go check it out!)

I have been running so sweaty my whole life
Urgent for a finish line
And I have been missing the rapture this whole time
Of being forever incomplete
—Alanis Morissette, “Incomplete”

anything or anyone
that does not bring you alive
is too small for you
—David Whyte, poet

Whenever there is enthusiasm, there is a creative empowerment that goes far beyond what a mere person is capable of.
—Eckhart Tolle, A New Earth

If you bring forth what is within you, what you bring forth will save you. If you do not bring forth what is within you, what you do not bring forth will destroy you.
—Saint Thomas

The Business of Being Yourself
I think this is part of what I was trying to get at in a recent post about the Visible and Real blog-space.

How I Work From Home (and actually get work done)
Cassie over at Back to Her Roots has a lot of great posts, but this one? It was particularly well-timed for me. I am finding that some of the same tips she gives really help me to focus. (That, and setting only ONE task to accomplish.)

12 thoughts on “Weekend Reads

  1. Oh wow thanks for including me! What a lovely surprise for a Saturday morning. And thanks for compiling this list of reads…I’ll definitely be reading!

Leave a Reply

