The only way out of resistance is writing through it: Resistance in noveling

The last two days, I’ve been talking about burnout and beginnings and out being the only way through. Yesterday, I promised that I would talk about a concrete example about burnout and going through and why this all has been coming up anyway. So, a little back story…

Novel in progress

Two years ago, I finished a novel manuscript’s first draft during NaNoWriMo [National Novel Writing Month]. A few days after the month ended, my computer crashed and I lost about 2/3 of the novel. (This non-newbie experienced newbie mistake #1: Not backing up in multiple places. I thought I had, but never checked. Oops!)

Then, for the 2011 NaNoWriMo, I decided to take the premise of the ending I remembered and try to get the story written. Something completely different came out, but I never finished. (Life always gets crazy around NaNo time, and being back in school for the first time in years did not help matters.)

Since then, I’ve been puttering with the story. And by puttering, I mean working frenetically on it for a few weeks, then pushing it aside, proclaiming I just can’t do it.

Earlier this week, like a good writing partner, M. Fenn reminded of the “out is through” which my brain then translated to “Get the damn thing written.” I’d spent our writing date time trying to figure out what to do with the story – let it go or go through to the other side. I couldn’t decide if I kept coming back to it because: a.) I had so much already written in regards to this, or b.) there was something that kept drawing me back to the story. M. Fenn reminded me that if it’s the second reason, that’s a completely valid reason to stay with it, continuing by reminding me that sometimes, the only way out is through.

So, I’m still playing with the ideas, still thinking about it. I know that there is fear there, that the resistance to writing this is strong. I’m not entirely sure why, but I don’t know if I can keep fighting it, or if it’s worth fighting the resistance.

Where are you fighting? What stories are inside of you that need to be told, but that you keep fighting?

***

Looking for a place to write and share your story? The weekend sessions for the Visible and Real classes are still open to registration. Registration for Saturday classes closes Friday, September 14. Registration for Sunday classes closes Saturday, September 15.

8 thoughts on “The only way out of resistance is writing through it: Resistance in noveling

  1. And I was speaking to myself as well as you when I said the only way out is through. My novel’s, what, three years old now? And nowhere near finished. I’ve decided no more short stories for me at least until next spring. Headway needs to be made!

Leave a Reply

