Through the Glass Backwards: Valuing practice

Each Thursday, join me for my once a week practice, Through the Glass Backwards. The title of this series came from my former commute into work, when I took the light rail downtown. Even though I tend to get motion sick easily, I usually ended up facing backwards, watching as  the city slipped by. Now that I work from home, these vignettes will be a 200 word glimpse of things I see as the world outside me lives its life, and I am fortunate enough to see, but not necessarily from the light rail window.

Since leaving my job nearly a month ago, I’ve spent more time than I had previously with my practices of meditation and writing. A few days after leaving my job, we took a whirlwind trip to Vermont to pick up a custom build meditation shrine. Since then, I’ve spent a lot of time looking at it during meditation.

This weekend, I was asked why I felt the need for this shrine. It’s a question that’s been on my mind, since, as it’s a good question.

When I sit down in front of the shrine, it’s a reminder to me of what that space is for. That this is a practice that I feel is important to my personal growth and my place in this world. That it’s worth making time for this practice, as it helps to root me in my body, in my writing, and in this life.

The shrine is a chance for us to honor this practice – that we believe it is valuable and wanted something more concrete, rather than a quilt tossed over a plastic bin, to carve out the space for meditation. It’s my clear reminder.

What do you do to help value your practice?

***

The shrine was custom designed and built by the amazing woodworker, Roy Gibson, at Laughing Coyote Woodworks. It was a pleasure to work with him and we are thrilled with the outcome. You can see their official write up of the shrine and design on their website. If you’re looking for a custom piece – for any purpose, not just a shrine – I highly recommend Laughing Coyote.

I also want to clarify – I think that we all value practices and things differently and that one doesn’t necessarily need a fancy shrine. Our quilt covered plastic bin worked really well; we were ready to make a larger commitment and chose to listen to that this way. But, this, by no means, is the only way.

Leave a Reply

