Through the Glass Backwards: Honk honk beep beep

Each Thursday, join me for my once a week practice, Through the Glass Backwards. The title of this series came from my former commute into work, when I took the light rail downtown. Even though I tend to get motion sick easily, I usually ended up facing backwards, watching as  the city slipped by. Now that I work from home, these vignettes will be a 200 word glimpse of things I see as the world outside me lives its life, and I am fortunate enough to see, but not necessarily from the light rail window.

Honk the horn at the neighbors
Honk the horn at the neighbors (Photo credit: roger jones)

I spend a lot of time on the road these days. It amazes me how angry people get while driving. I was leaving school, heading to pick up Sarah at work. While in the left lane to take the exit in the next few miles, a car sped up behind me, hopped to the next lane, honking all the way past. The car then got back into the same lane I was in, speeding along in front of me.

There are so many times that response to that is to scream in the driver’s seat, to say nasty things about the drivers and about the driving of east coast drivers along I-95. Blood pressure rising, loud music, maybe even finding creative ways to get back at the driver.

I’m not sure what it was about that day. Not sure what it means, that this one time, I’m able to find a space inside to laugh, to wonder – what really is going on for this person?

I’m thankful for the moment to step back and see my own response, and to be able to laugh at it, to not freak out about what’s happened, to not take it seriously or personally.

Leave a Reply

