Through the Glass Backwards: People around me

Join me for my weekly practice, Through the Glass Backwards. The title of this series came from my former commute into work, when I took the light rail downtown. Even though I tend to get motion sick easily, I usually ended up facing backwards, watching as  the city slipped by. Now that I work from home, these vignettes will be a 200 word glimpse of things I see and I am fortunate enough to see, but not necessarily from the light rail window.

***

She smiled and it made me wonder what she was doing, it was joyful and bright. As I closed my eyes against dizziness from being in a moving vehicle, I opened them and saw her pumping her fist in the air, whispering “Yes!” The joy wrapped around her like a blanket in a train full of commuters on their way home on a Thursday afternoon. The joy was a light in the midst of dark grays, blacks, and navy blues, the bright light of her hair reflecting in the rain’s overhead lights, the way that she bopped along with the music. I wonder what she was listening to.

The book’s cover was yellow, the color of just ripened bananas. I know it was a Nick Hornby title. He was more than halfway through. I didn’t catch the title, don’t know what it was about. There is still a thrill when I see people reading print books on transportation, so I can sneak a peek at the titles, wonder about their collection, wonder about what they think of the book. I rarely start conversations with people on trains, planes, or buses, but books? Books are always the perfect opening if I want to chat.

On the platform, reading

Leave a Reply

