Through the Glass Backwards: Reading, integrating, and breathing

readingI’m not typically one to read the news. Our television is often black, silent. I swipe through national and international news stories at least once or twice a week, during a 15 minute timer set to play digitized harps after the time has passed. I know that I need to stay “up to date” and “in the know.” So much information, crashing through my brain. I feel like I’m sinking in the information. Even with 15 minutes, I don’t know what to do with it all.

I often joke that I’ve been educated within an inch of my life*. I’ve been taught to integrate my information, to do something with it. It’s one of the reasons I love pleasure reading; I don’t have to do anything with it.

Rebellion, terror, fear, discrimination of all kinds, killings, unhappiness, stressful working and living situations, natural disasters.

When I read the news, this is not for pleasure. It’s a way to connect with my world. But, I feel so lost, untethered, because I do not know what to do with the information. So much suffering, so much pain, so much hardship.

What do I do with this knowing? On good days, I remember to practice.

~~~

* Hat tip to Barbara Kingsolver, from whom I first read the line “educated within an inch of her life.” Though, for the life of me, I can’t find where it’s from.

One thought on “Through the Glass Backwards: Reading, integrating, and breathing

Leave a Reply

