Gratitude, Abundance, and Life

If you don’t follow me on Twitter or the V+R page over on Facebook, I’ve been doing a gratitude post once a day for the past… oh, while now. (I don’t remember how long.) And it has been really interesting to think about what changes and what stays the same.

habit listIt’s on my list of “habits” for the day (I currently use the Habit List app on the iPhone to track the everyday things that help me to be a more centered, well balanced person), and at the end of the day, I do a quick check and if I haven’t posted anything, I flit on over to Twitter and whip out 140 characters.

It’s been such an eye opening experience to my life, which I often feel is really boring. But, when I think about what made me smile, what makes me happy, and what I want to share with everyone, I realize this rich abundance in my life that I tend to take for granted.

Now, being in counseling, there’s a lot of information about positive psychology and the role of gratitude in what I’ve read. You’ve got lots of books about how good gratitude is for attitude, for happiness, for all sorts of things. And I know that there have been times that the most I could whip out was “I’m grateful it’s nearly bedtime.” And yet, the fact that I have a comfy bed and a set time to be able to be asleep (not to mention a relatively easy time getting there, most nights), those are also things to be immensely grateful for.

This isn’t a call to start a gratitude practice (though I don’t discourage it; I just don’t want to get all preachy). But, there are times when I really just need a shift of perspective. There’s a sense that I need to be able to put out into the world that there is good in this life of mine – and I’m going to let it shine.

Do you have a gratitude practice? What is it like for you?

4 thoughts on “Gratitude, Abundance, and Life

Leave a Reply

