A note and some links to share

Oh, it feels good to be back in this space. I’m nowhere near ready to be back here as regularly as I had been, but I’ve been squirreling away from links the past three weeks as I’ve been able to get over to feedly (since the sad passing of Google Reader). I wanted to share some of those great reads with you.

I also wanted to do a quick check-in, that I’m still here, still kicking. I’m still working on my #sschallenge goals, though not keeping strict track of points. It feels better this way.

There was also the part where I was going to say I’m not sure what it is about this time of the year that I feel restless, a bit on edge. And then, I realize that the end of July has been the time a lot of changes have occurred in my life. So, I guess it shouldn’t be so surprising. I’m allowing it, right now. Doesn’t make for pretty shiny things, but it’s all a practice, right?

Now, on to the reads! (And after revisiting them doing this post… there’s definitely a theme here…)

How Was Your Trip? from Inside Space
A look at re-entry after time away, about processing and digesting.

Internal Sunscreen from Canffirmations
An affirmation of the daily goals that help the path stay clear.

Home Retreat: The Practice of Doing Exactly What You Want from Susan Piver
Turning one’s own space into rereat space. I love it! (Plus, some helpful pointers.)

When a Former Anorexic/Bulimic Loves Her Body from Beth Morey
A powerful post on self-love, grace, and practice. Potential trigger warning for mention of eating disorders and body hatred.

Own Your Awesomeness! from Canffirmations
Reflections on owning one’s own awesomeness… and its necessity.

excuses! Excuses! EXCUSES! from the Jotter’s Joint
Love this… resonates so clearly (and loudly) with me. Seemed appropriate to place this near Own Your Awesomeness.

Thank You from Inside Space
A reminder from my teacher on why writing practice is so powerful, and so necessary.

The World Needs Writers from Johanna Harness (via M. Fenn)
On the power and necessity of truthful honest raw stories… which means courageous storytellers.

When Poetry is Like Coming Home from Beth Morey
Relearning what feeds us. And the power of words.

Burning Phoenix from Canffirmations
A look at what it means to let go of what no longer serves.

The Awesomest 7-Year Post-Doc or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Tenure-Track Faculty Life from Scientific American
This was making the rounds of my Facebook feed, so I read it. And I’m so glad I did. It’s all about perspective and expectation, when you get right down to it.

Leave a Reply

