“You have always worn your flaws on your sleeve”: On feedback, constructive criticism, and self-care

Subject line from “Flaws” by Bastille.

I’m in a period of my life where I am constantly surrounded by feedback and constructive criticism. I’m in the part of my program where I am presenting my clinical work, where I am meeting weekly with multiple supervisors, talking about my work, about clients, what I’m doing (and what I should be doing, and what I could be doing differently).

It can be an exhausting process.

2013-11-05 08.20.09At the same time, there is a deep gratitude for this process. Deep deep gratitude. How else would I learn except by practice? How else would there be the opportunity to get better at what I am so very new at?

This time period is requiring self-care in ways I wasn’t expecting. I am trying to find time to write, time to sit. And I haven’t been very good at that, to be honest. But, I am finding how important it is and how it helps me to thrive and be the best counselor-intern that I can be, when I’m taking care of myself.

When I try to make changes in my life – like taking on new roles and responsibilities – there is a period of having to settle in. There is a period where I have to understand that there is change. And when that period has been combined with constant feedback about what is working and what is not? It’s made me realize how much more important self-care is. To take care and be gentle when so much is coming back to you.

How do you take care of yourself in the midst of change?

One thought on ““You have always worn your flaws on your sleeve”: On feedback, constructive criticism, and self-care

Leave a Reply

