2013 turns to 2014: Trust and Unfolding

There is something powerful about when I feel a sense of freshness, newness. And yet, I also know there may be other messages underneath the resolutions of the new year.

Throughout the final weeks of 2013, I spent a fair amount of time thinking about an intention word/feeling for 2014. I had a running Note file on my phone with possible words. And there were some good words on there. Powerful words. But, nothing really stuck, nothing jumped out and said Me me me!!!

Then, one evening, close to the end of the year, I had an evening of quiet. Sarah was on her computer, I was reading for next semester. We were surrounded by boxes, but not caught up in the whirlwind of our most recent move. And there was a little word in my reading that made me pause… with its quite nature, I realized that it embodied a lot of the intentions I had sitting in my Note file, but with less flair and pizzazz.

It makes sense. My intention of becoming more myself, of walking out in trust and faith in myself and in humanity… it’s a quiet process. It’s also a process to dig in deep and find what’s underneath the layers, what treasure trove I’ve been hiding from myself and the world. (Thanks to my therapist for the image of the layers.)

2014, I welcome you with the intention of continually unfolding myself, of unwrapping, of continual discovery of just what I am capable of and what I have to offer this world.

2014, I welcome you with the intention of unfolding the coverings and cocoons that I have kept myself wrapped in, to allow an open heart and authentic living.

2014, I welcome you with the intention of allowing what unfolds to be as it is, which includes the quiet nature of this process.

2014, I welcome you.

2014: A year of unfolding (background by Beth Morey)
2014: A year of unfolding (background by Beth Morey)

Have you set an intention of 2014? What is it?

6 thoughts on “2013 turns to 2014: Trust and Unfolding

Leave a Reply

