Finding community in diversity

Holy two months away from blogging, Batman! I won’t apologize for the absence, because I think it was necessary, on many levels. But, boy, it is good to be back. Here’s hoping for a while!

2014-03-30 14.38.40
All different, all together, being ourselves, allowing others to be themselves.

One of the things that I have been thinking about a lot recently is community. I went to a professional conference last week and, upon coming home, everyone is asking “HOW WAS IT!?”

A fair question to be sure.

The answer that bubbles to the surface quickest is “Wonderful. I found my people.” And I usually get laughter and asking what I mean.

Again, a fair question.

I’m still trying to wrap my head around it, but there has been a lot of feeling like I am floundering in a lot of areas of my life, not knowing what direction I want to go in (and oftentimes, wanting to go in ALL directions). I’m learning that is not sustainable.

So, when I was sitting in a presentation that combined some of my interests, and people were talking together about different ways of healing and knowing and understanding… I felt heard and seen. No closer to having Answers, but closer to feeling more settled in myself, because I was not alone.

I’ve had multiple experiences like that recently, where there was a sense of groundedness in being able to be with those who are different – yet we are all in the same place and able to have conversations with compassion.

Having that experience of being able to be seen and have compassionate conversation has reminded me of pieces of myself that have been quieted over the past (nearly) ten years. While there is wondering where it went, there is also compassion that that might have been the choice I needed at the time.

And yet, as I walk through this year of unfolding, there are real implications and imploring to embrace all parts. What still fits? What do I get to keep? What no longer serves?

I’m learning unfolding is as much about discarding as allowing… all in gentleness and all in curiosity.

Leave a Reply

