#bookreview – The Magicians by Lev Grossman

6101718The Magicians (The Magicians #1)
by Lev Grossman
Plume (Penguin Group), 2009
Urban fantasy/Magic
3/5

I had heard amazing things about this book. Hailed at a grown up Harry Potter, I was intrigued by the idea of a college of magic, Brakebills, and how a young man is drawn into this world and set on his path – after feeling pathless for much of his life.

In the beginning, I could not put the story down. Quentin Coldwater, the main character, was someone I was rooting for, because everything seemed to go wrong for him from the beginning. I wanted something to go right. Then, meeting some of the other characters, such as Alice, Quentin’s girlfriend? I loved the ways that smarts and hard work were important for the work. Plus, magic! The descriptions of Brakebills were enchanting and I could picture myself there.

I found, though, toward the middle, I just could not get the oomph to finish. I had stopped caring somewhere along the way. I was finishing simply to see it through. Quentin become someone I was just like, “Really?” I wasn’t sure he was someone I would like in real life. I appreciated that there were no easy answers, but at the same time, I just wanted the novel to end.

When I got to the end and saw that it was the end of the novel, but left like a cliffhanger, I wasn’t sure if I would continue. On GoodReads, I see that the other two books have higher star ratings than The Magicians; there is a part of me that wants to finish the trilogy (I am a completist at heart), and yet, after walking away from this one going, Meh, I’m not sure that I will.

One thought on “#bookreview – The Magicians by Lev Grossman

Leave a Reply

